Subject Guide TabsWelcomeThis guide is to support research in Visual Anthropology. Start with these titles: Beyond the visual : sound and image in ethnographic and documentary film GN347 .B49 2010 Ethnographic film GN347 .H44 2006 Picturing culture : explorations of film & anthropology GN347.R83 Consider conducting a subject heading search in the catalogue for related materials: Ethnographic films Try looking up famous visual ethnographers as authors in the library catalogue. For instance: Asch, Timothy Gardner, Robert, 1925- Flaherty, Robert J. Chagnon, Napoleon A, 1938- Rouch, Jean Reference Materials: A Bibliography of ethnographic films GN347 BIBL .B42 Cultural anthropology : a guide to reference and information sources REF GN42 .J33 2007 [consult visual anthropology in the subject index for relevant pages] Encyclopedia of Anthropology [consult "Anthropology, visual"] Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology REF GN307.E52 [4v.] [consult "Visual Anthropology" in v.4] Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology REF GN307.E527 [1 copy can be borrowed; also available online] [consult "visual anthropology" in the index] BooksRecommended Books: Behind the eye : reflexive methods in culture studies, ethnographic film, and visual media GN347 .J45 2009 Ciné-Ethnography GN347 .R57 2003 Culture, heritage and representation : perspectives on visuality and the past G156.5.H47 C8598 2010 Decolonizing the Lens of Power: Indigenous Films in North America PN1995.9.I48 K67 2008 Doing visual ethnography : images, media, and representation in research, 3rd ed. GN347 .P56 2013 [2nd ed also available] The ethnographer's eye : ways of seeing in anthropology GN347 .G75 2001 Ethnographic film GN347 .H44 2006 Films for anthropological teaching GN42.3.Z9H4 1995 The future of visual anthropology : engaging the senses GN347 .P57 2006 Images and empires : visuality in colonial and postcolonial Africa GN645 .I43 2002 Image and response in early Europe GN347 .W45 2008 Picturing culture : explorations of film & anthropology GN347.R83 Photography, anthropology, and history : expanding the frame RSV GN34.3.P45 P49 2009 Principles of visual anthropology GN347 .P75 2003 Rethinking visual anthropology GN347 .R45 Seeing anthropology : cultural anthropology through film GN347 .H46 2007 Viewpoints : visual anthropologists at work GN347 .V565 2009 Visual anthropology : essential method and theory GN347 .E5 2004 Visualizing anthropology GN347 .V574 2005 Suggested Subject Headings: Indigenous peoples in motion picturesMotion pictures in ethnologyPhotography in anthropologyPhotography in ethnologyVisual anthropology Journal ArticlesKey Databases for Journal Articles: Anthropology PlusJSTORWiley Online JournalsAdditional Databases: AnthroSourceScopusSocial Sciences Full TextWeb of Science Core CollectionJournal Article Annotations: Having trouble with AnthroSource? Try JSTOR and Wiley Online Library instead. DatabasesKey Databases: Films on DemandWatmedia: Media Catalog SearchDatabase Annotations: Please see the subject page for Anthropology to find other database suggestions. JournalsSelect Journals: Journal of visual culture Visual anthropology Visual anthropology review Visual studies MediaImages: To find films in the catalgoue try the following subject heading in the catalogue: Ethnology -- Pictorial works Cultural images from the British Library (a part of Empire Online) Videos: Try the following subject heading in the catalogue: Ethnographic films Also try a keyword search for ethno*, limiting the Material Type to film/video etc. !Kung short films Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner Les maîtres fous The medium is the masseuse : a Balinese massage ; Jero Tapakan, stories in the life of a Balinese healer Nanook of the north Nanook revisited The Newcomers: prologue The shadow catcher : Edward S. Curtis and the North American Indian Shooting Indians : a journey with Jeffrey Thomas A Song For Tibet [also via the NFB] The Triumph Of The Will Tsundu: Becoming a Lama WebsitesWebsites: Bibliography for Visual Anthropology (Maximilian Forte, Concordia University) Jay Ruby's Home Page National Film Board Online Resources for Canadian Heritage: Ethnology Society for Visual Anthropology University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology Films (Internet Archive) Video Library: Video Nas Aldeias (Video in the Villages, Brazil) Video Projects: The Ethnographic Film Unit at UBC VisualAnthropology.net Writing and CitingMore Writing & Citing Resources: Please see the Anthropology subject page for relevant guides, books and web sites. Citing Film Resources Please consult the non-print sections of relevant style guides.