Marketing books are shelved on the 4th floor in the following call number ranges:
- HF5410-HF5468 Marketing
- HF5801-HF6182 Advertising
To find books in the library, you may begin with a Summon search. Included in a summon search are books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more, almost all of the articles and other sources in the databases that we subscribe to, plus research by Carton faculty, staff and students found in our institutional repository, CURVE.
However, Summon doesn't search the entire library collection so you still need to search our other resources to find everything that you need, in particular data and statistics. Summon also doesn't let you do sophisticated searches that you may be used to doing in specific databases or the library catalogue.
Because there will be many results, it is important to narrow your search.
- To see only BOOKS click on Book/eBook.
- To see only JOURNAL ARTICLES click on Journal Article and click on Scholarly & Peer-Review.
- Content Type
- Publication Date
- Subject Terms
- Library Location
When to Use Summon:
|I want to...
|Search for articles and/or books on a topic
||Summon searches a wide range of sources and will bring you books, articles and other useful resources on your topic
|Get started on an interdisciplinary topic
||Summon will find resources from databases covering many topics, so can be much more efficient than searching several databases
|Narrow a topic down
||Summon lets you narrow down your search by subject or discipline, using facets on the left side. Each facet shows you how many results you'll get if you select it, so you can see in advance if you're narrowing your topic down to only 2 or 3 items.
|Search for a specific book, video, journal title, game, etc.
||The library catalogue lets you do more specific searches and has up-to-date information about whether items are in the library or checked out. This information in Summon may be a few hours old.
|Renew my library books
||You can only access your library account through the library catalogue, not through Summon.
|Use specific search options available in a database
||Summon doesn't let you search by specific fields like methodology, NAICS code, jurisdiction, etc. so you need to go directly to a specialized database to do that kind of a search.
Use the CATALOGUE to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, and journals. Only the titles of journals are included in the catalogue: use the databases or Summon to search for individual article titles.
If you know the title of the item you seek, using the drop down change keyword to TITLE. If you know the author, change keyword to AUTHOR.
Otherwise, try a KEYWORD search or do an advanced search using a number of terms and phrases:
- Use boolean operators AND/OR to create a relevant search statement.
- Use the truncation symbol * when you want to allow for several spellings or variations on a word.
- When using more than one operator, use parentheses to group words.
- Example: (corporation* or marketing) and ("social media" or twitter or facebook)
When keyword searching, if a keyword exists in the subject heading or in the title, the resource is much more likely to be about that topic. You can construct sophisticated searches by specifying that your search terms must exist in particular fields of the catalogue record. Prefix the search term with a: to restrict to authors, t: to restrict to titles, s: to restrict to subject headings, and n: to restrict to the notes (where tables of contents are loaded).
Example: social media and marketing
Scroll down to see the subject headings:
- Social media -- Marketing.
- Internet marketing.
- Social marketing.
- Marketing -- Management.
For more information, consult the keyword search help in the catalogue.
eBooks can be found in the catalogue by author, title, subject and keyword searching. Do a search and then limit your search to retreive only ebooks by using the drop down menu:
Browse the Library’s ebook collections - over 50 ebook collections held by the Library. Click on the “details” link to see information about the collection, click on the collection title to go directly to the collection website. Consult the guide to accessing ebooks.
Marketing Classics and Bestsellers
Anderson, Chris. The long tail : why the future of business is selling less of more, New York, Hyperion, 2006
HF5415.127 .A54 2006
Cialdini, Robert B. Influence: Science and Practice. Boston, MA., Allyn and Bacon, 2001.
RSV BF774.C53 2001
Gladwell, Malcolm. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference. Boston, Little Brown, 2000.
Levitt, Theodore. Marketing Imagination. New expanded ed. New York, Free Press, 1986.
Levinson, Jay Conrad. Guerrilla marketing : easy and inexpensive strategies for making big profits from your small business. 4th ed. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007. HF5415 .L477 2007
Lindstrom, Martin. Buy ology : truth and lies about why we buy. New York, Doubleday, 2008
HF5415.12615 .L56 2008
Moore, Geoffrey A. Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling High-Tech Products to Mainstream Customers. Rev. ed. New York, HarperBusiness, 1999.
Ogilvy, David. Confessions of an Advertising Man. New York, Atheneum, 1963.
Ogilvy, David. Ogilvy on advertising. Toronto, Wiley, 1985
Ries, Al. Positioning: The Battle for your Mind. New York, McGraw-Hill, 1981.
Underhill, Paco. Why We Buy: The Science of Shopping. New York, Simon & Schuster, 1999.