Summaries and Commentary

Finding Contact Information

Funding Opportunities:

Websites


And don't forget to visit the Reader's Digest Resource Centre in the River Building for more help!

Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete

  • Academic literature for studies in communication, mass media, discourse & rhetoric, organizational communication, and more

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database

  • Focused on current events, business, sciences, and the arts (includes academic content)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

  • Focuses on film and television theory, production, and technical aspects

Business Source Complete

  • Focus on management, economics, international business, marketing, industry, communications & media, and more

Scopus

  • Multi-disciplinary database with significant coverage of social sciences

Google Scholar

  • Connect through the Library for direct access to resources in our collection

The Wire Report

  • News service focused on Canada's telecom and media sectors

Books in the Library's Catalogue

  1. Begin with a 'Keyword' search (change 'Entire Collection' to 'Books')
  2. For a more focused search, change 'Keyword' to 'Subject'
  3. Suggested Subject Headings:

The results will show related Subject Headings.  Explore each that is relevant to your topic.  Subject Headings are assigned as a way of grouping related resources together.


To find a list of books added to the collection within the past 30 days, see our New Titles page under P: Philology & Linguistics (General), Mass Communication

These books can be found on the main floor, near the Library Services Desk

Subject Headings for Reference Material

Theses and Dissertation Databases

Additional Catalogues

Data

CARDonline

  • Advertising rates and data for marketing, public relations, and communications professionals

GMID: Global Market Information Database Core Statistics

  • Offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports, insightful comment from industry experts and country analysts, as well as thousands of sources of further information (you may be asked to log in a second time)

International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

  • Agency of the United Nations focused on information and communication technologies

PMB Print Measurement Bureau

  • Canadian consumer data on print readership, media exposure, product usage, and lifestyles (password required: please contact Scott Turner for assistance)

Government Information

Visit the Maps, Data and Government Information Centre (MADGIC) section on Government Information.  Note in particular: