This guide is designed for masters and Phd students in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies.
Thesis & Dissertation Writing Guides:
- Mapping your thesis; the comprehensive manual of theory and techniques for masters and doctoral research
- How to do your dissertation in geography and related disciplines
- Research literacies and writing pedagogies for masters and doctoral writers
General Writing Guides for Geography:
- Communicating in geography and environmental sciences
- Making Sense; a student's guide to research and writing: geography and environmental sciences
Literature Review Writing Guides:
- The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students
- Conducting research literature reviews: from the Internet to paper
Dissertations and Theses Global - Discover dissertations and theses published by educational institutions from around the world, from 1743 to the present (some full text available from 1997 - present)
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations - 700,000 doctoral dissertations from outside the U.S. and Canada
Library Catalogue Help:
Searching for Grey Literature - what is it ? how to find it
Use Summon to perform 'one search' to find books, journal articles, newspaper articles, videos, and many other types of published literature. It searches almost all of our collections and databases, simultaneously.
If you know the title of a specific book, journal article, or journal, just type in the full title in the search box.
If you are keyword searching in Summon:
- Combine keywords with AND
- Combine synonyms with OR
- Use truncation * (asterisk) at the end of a root word to find all forms of the word, ie: mineral* (will retrieve minerals, mineralogy, mineralogical, etc.)
When you get your results, use the filters on the left side of the screen to Refine your search.
Note: If you are searching Summon from off campus, you must login if you want to be able to access the full text of journal articles and ebooks.
Before you search Google Scholar, you must select preferences in the settings menu. Once you set and save your preferences, you will be able to link to the library's online resources retreived with a Google Scholar search. Consult the Google Scholar Search Tips guide for more information.
You can also search subject-specific databases to find journal articles. They offer many advanced search features, only contain scholarly literature and search results are more precise. Consult the following recommended lists:
Note: If the library does not have what you need, you can order books and journal articles from other libraries through RACER but you need to register before you can start using it.
Cited Reference Searching is most often used for finding articles that cite a particular work. Many databases provide citation counts for individual articles.
Why is this important?
Keeping track of who has cited a given work can help you gauge the impact that article has in the discipline
If the article has been cited, the database will provide a link to the citing articles
Search Alerts Help Guide - search alerts are a current awareness service that helps researchers stay current in what is being published in their field via email.
There are many free citation or document management systems available. The library provides support for the following:
- EndNote Basic
Attend a workshop that demonstrates the common features of these tools. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to register for a workshop, or arrange for one-on-one consultation.
Consult the Citation Management Help Guide for more information.
Books & Encyclopedias
- Research Methods in Geography
- Conducting Research in Human Geography
- Geographic thought: a critical introduction
- Geographic thought: a praxis perspective
- International Encyclopedia of human geography
- The SAGE handbook of qualitative geography
- Methods in human geography: a guide for students doing a research project
- Quantitative geography: perspectives on spatial data analysis
- Practical statistics for geographers and earth scientists
- Elementary statistics for geographers
Nvivo is qualitative data analysis software intended to help researchers organize and analyz data, identify trends, and cross examine information in a variety of ways. Consult the NVIVO service web page for more information about this tool and training workshops.
- Publishing in Geography: a guide for new researchers
- Publishing Graduate Student Research in Geography: The Fundamentals (CURVE respository link)
- Communicating Geographical Research Beyond the Academy
- Writing for Publication (how to guide & online modules)
- SHERPA/RoMEO - standard tool for researchers to easily navigate academic publishers' copyright and self-archiving policies when depositing scholarly articles in an institututional repository.
- CURVE is Carleton's insitutional repository which collects, preserves and provides open access to the academic research output and creative works of Carleton faculty and scholars.
Citation-based metrics used for ranking journals. This may be important for:
- preparing your portfolio
- assesing the impact and quality of a journal relative to a particular discipline
- tenure and promotion in academic circles
- Consult the Journal Rankings Help Guide for more information