This research guide is designed for faculty and students doing research in Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies.

Explore your topic

Use the catalogue to find books, government documents, conference proceedings, films and journals.  Only the titles of journals are included in the catalogue: use the databases to search for individual articles.

If you know the title of the item you seek, perform a title search.

If you know the author, perform an author search.  Enter the author's name with the surname first.

Otherwise, try a keyword search.  Scroll down the keyword search page to get help and tips such as:

Use Boolean operators to refine or expand your search:

    AND to find all of the words in any order
    OR to find any of the words
    AND NOT to exclude one or more words

When using more than one operator, use parentheses to group words.

example (work or lab*r or employment) and canad*

Once you find one or more good books, look at the SUBJECT headings that have been used.  Follow those SUBJECT heading links to find related books.

Use Summon - which makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more.

However,  Summon doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. Summon also doesn't let you do sophisticated searches that you may be used to doing in specific databases or the library catalogue.  

When to use Summon

  • When starting research on a topic
  • If you are not sure which databases to use

For assistance using Summon please contact the Research Help Desk.

Suggested Subject Headings:
Europe -- Relations -- Russia.
Russia (Federation) -- Foreign relations
Foreign relations -- European Union
European Union

Fulltext eBook Collections:
Cambridge University Press eBooks
Columbia International Affairs Online
Oxford University Press eBooks
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Canadian Publishers Collection
Wiley Online Journals

Digi 20  - A full-text edition of over 4000 German-language monographs in the humanities and social sciences from major German academic presses
OstDok - Eastern European Documents online.  Includes digitized versions of academic monographs and periodicals in Eastern European studies

 

Key Databases
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Columbia International Affairs Online

Additional Databases
Russian National Bibliography
Political Science Database (previously ProQuest Political Science)
PAIS Index (previously PAIS International)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International Political Science Abstracts
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Argumenty i Fakty
Central and Eastern European Online Library
Current Digest of the Post Soviet Press
Historical Abstracts
GEOBASE
CRL Catalog
IHS Jane's: Defence & Security Intelligence & Analysis
Dissertations and Theses Global

Government Infomration
MADGIC Maps, Data and Government Information Centre, Carleton University Library
Government of Canada

This is a list of suggested journals and magazines in the field of European, Russian and Eurasian studies. Some of these publications are available only in print while others are available online or in print and electronic format.

If you know the name of a journal, look it up by its journal title in the catalogue. If you don't know journal names, you can search for journals in the catalogue. Try the subject headings:

Useful websites

Organizations/Institutes

News Sources

  • Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
    Contains daily reports of developments in Eastern Europe.
  • Radio Prague
    An international broadcast station for the Czech Republic. Currently broadcast in five languages: English, Czech, German, Spanish and French. Covers Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia.
  • Interfax News Agency
    Website for news and information on Russia, CIS and Baltic countries.
  • Central Asia-Caucasus Analyst
    From Central Asia-Caucasus Institute, Johns Hopkins University.
  • Russian public opinion center
    • Всероссийский центр изучения общественного мнения (ВЦИОМ)

      Russian Public Opinion Research Center (VCIOM). The "База данных" section includes a searchable database with data 1992-present; articles on current issues; ratings, conference reports, exit-poll data; data from ongoing projects. Other useful sections include Новости (News) and Выборы-2012 (Elections-2012).

    • Левада-Центр - Includes an omnibus survey service. Archive (Архив) includes a list of previous surveys and results. Data from some specific projects are available freely online. Includes several indexes of current PO data of general interest.

Carleton University

Archive of European Integration
Russian Sources:

Eurasia

Western Europe

Eastern Europe

Consult the News Guide for details of news sources.

Tips for searching newspaper databases.
For current Canadian newspapers/news:

For historical Canadian & other newspapers:

For international sources:

Writing & Citing Guides: 

Citation Management (workshops offered at the Library)

More Writing & Citing Resources: 

Citing Government Information

Citing Print and Electronic Resources

  • Citing Sources From Duke University. This guide provides examples of citations in APA, Chicago, MLA,and Turabian styles for both print and electronic resources.
  • Online! Citing Electronic Resources Provides guidelines for the citation of electronic resources in a variety of styles

How to write a literature review