Welcome to the library resource guide for the planned Collaborative Master's Program in Data Science, also known as Big Data, at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page. In addition to the Related Subject Guides on the right, please also see the following guides:
Get background information from handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries
- Canadian Patents Database Canadian Intellectual Patent Office (CIPO) contains all Canadian patents and images from 1933 to the present.
- Google Patents Fastest place to go for all U.S. patents and some U.S. patent applications. Contains descriptions and images in PDF and HTML
- MicroPatent Access to all U.S. patents, U.S. patent applications, World patents, European patents, Japanese abstracts, and more. Ability to search full text, download and export citations.
- WikiPatents Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.
- Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for
- Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic
- Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search
- Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search
- Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only
- Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators)
- Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc.
- Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers.