Subject Guide TabsWelcomeWelcome to the library subject guide for Communications Engineering at Carleton University. Scroll down to the Reference Materials section to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. For other types of resources, please use the tabs at the top of this page. "Communication Engineering" - a definition Reference Materials: Handbooks Style and ethics of communication in science and engineering [electronic resource] / Jay D. Humphrey, Jeffrey W. Holmes. The handbook of science and technology studies / edited by Edward J. Hackett ... [et al.]. Dictionaries McGraw-Hill dictionary of computing and communications / McGraw-Hill. Encyclopedias Building the world : an encyclopedia of the great engineering projects in history / [compiled by] Frank P. Davidson and Kathleen Lusk Brooke. SEARCH TIPS Begin by defining exactly what you are searching for Select the keywords/synonyms in your topic Be specific when determining keywords/synonyms and terms to search Use the advanced interface of electronic databases and Internet search engines to help narrow your search Limit results in electronic databases to full-text or peer reviewed journals only Use Boolean Operators to connect search terms (Click for a brief explanation of Boolean Operators) Take notes during your research to keep track of where you have been, keywords searched, what worked and what didn't, etc. Google search secrets [electronic resource] / Christa Burns and Michael P. Sauers. BooksRecommended Books: Find books on your topic to gain greater depth and understanding Books and Serials on Telecommunications Engineering are shelved at these locations in the Library of Congress system: TK5101-6720. New titles. We welcome your suggestions for books or other library materials you need for your study or research at Carleton. Google Books >Communications Engineering Suggested Subject Headings: Communications SoftwareComputer CommunicationsDistributed Network ProcessingTelecommunications EngineeringWireless CommunicationsFulltext eBook Collections: Books24x7Cambridge University Press eBooksCRCnetBASEKnovel LibraryMIT CogNet MyiLibrarySafari Books OnlineSpringer eBooksTaylor & Francis eBooks Journal ArticlesKey Databases for Journal Articles: EI Engineering VillageIEEE Xplore Digital LibraryScopusAdditional Databases: Web of Science Core Collection DatabasesKey Databases: EI Engineering VillageIEEE Xplore Digital LibraryScopusAdditional Databases: Academic OneFileACM Digital LibraryDissertations and Theses GlobalKnovel LibraryScience.govSpringerLink JournalsWeb of ScienceDatabase Annotations: Once your topic is narrowly defined, select databases to find specific articles that have been published in journals JournalsSelect Journals: DOAJ -- Directory of Open Access Journals Bell Labs technical journal. Convergence [electronic resource]. IEEE communications magazine. IEEE journal on selected areas in communications. IEEE transactions on communications. IEEE transactions on information theory / Professional Technical Group on Information Theory. IEEE transactions on signal processing. IET communications [electronic resource]. International journal of electronics and communications [electronic resource] Mobilities [electronic resource] MediaVideos: Light of the 21st century. Khan Academy: Watch. Practice. Learn almost anything for free. Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform which provides access to streaming videos from Films Media Group. Communications Engineering videos WebsitesWebsites: General Intute: Engineering EE Times: The global electronics engineering community Yahoo Electrical Engineering Associations Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - US based professional society IEEE Computer Society - US based membership organisation for computing professionals Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) - UK based professional organisation International Telecommunications Union (ITU) - United Nations agency for information and communication technology issues Writing and CitingMore Writing & Citing Resources: Write down or store all the references you have consulted to include them in your bibliography of your research paper (e.g., Refworks) Writing Help Advice on Research and Writing From CMU, primarily for computer scientists IEEE Citation Style Guide Citing Electronic Resources Technical Report Writing from NASA Academic Writing Centre and the Writing Tutorial Service Get one-on-one help with the entire writing process. Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students The craft of editing : a guide for managers, scientists, and engineers / Michael Alley. Literature Reviews Internet resource: Selected Links to Resources on Writing a Literature Review Print books: Conducting research literature reviews : from the Internet to paper / Arlene Fink. The literature review : a step-by-step guide for students / Diana Ridley. Scientific writing and communication : papers, proposals, and presentations / Angelika H. Hofmann. Online book: The Oxford guide to library research [electronic resource] / Thomas Mann. Database: Annual Reviews Online / Authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. They synthesize the vast amount of primary research literature and identify the principal contributions in each field.