How to choose an essay topic

Explore your topic

Introducing Summon - which makes it possible to search across many of the library's collections simultaneously. Including books, ebooks, journal titles, games, music, videos, government information, maps, and more.

However,  Summon doesn't search everything that the library owns or subscribes to so you will still need to search other resources to find everything that you need. Summon also doesn't let you do sophisticated searches that you may be used to doing in specific databases or the library catalogue.  

When to use Summon

  • When starting research on a topic
  • If you are not sure which databases to use

For assistance using Summon please contact the Research Help Desk.

Define and get an overview of your topic or find definitions of key terms and concepts.

Key Databases for Journal Articles

Additional Databases

By connecting via Carleton Library, you will be able to seamlessly connect to the fulltext of articles that are part of the library's collection.

Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.

Maps

For more information and assistance, contact Sherri Sunstrum of the Maps, Data and Government Information Centre (located on floor 1 of the library).

Images

A photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece).

Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.  An index and links to the website’s contents is here.

Includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.

Publishes scholarly annotated images in anthropology, history, art history, archaeology, and many other disciplines.

Films/Videos

For video material at the Carleton Univeristy library, do a KEYWORD search in the library catalogue and limit "Material Type" to FILM/VIDEO.

If you cannot find what you need search the following database:

Free documentaries online.

Requires Adobe Shockwave.

Carleton University professor Shawn Graham's blog.

Provides access to Classical Archaeological, Ancient Near Eastern and Egyptological websites. The subject matter covered is all aspects of Classical Archaeology as well as the pre-classical past, e.g. Minoan and Mycenaean civilizations, Etruscan studies and archaeology of the Roman provinces. SISYPHOS also collects resources concerning "Archaeology" in general (history of the subject, theories, methods, institutions, excavation techniques).

Includes a comprehensive list of hominin fossils. Recommended by Archaeology magazine.

Biblical Archaeology

Egypt

The definitive archaeological record for Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon's discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun.

Referencing your sources is an important part of academic writing. Why?

  • it lets you acknowledge the ideas or words of others if you use them in your work
  • it helps you to avoid plagiarism
  • it demonstrates that you are using the scholarly record and that you can provide authority for statements you make in your term paper
  • it enables readers to find the source information

Writing

Citing